Six chemical engineering faculty and staff members honored at PSEAS Awards


This year, six chemical engineering faculty and staff members were honored for their outstanding contributions to the College. The annual awards are sponsored by the Penn State Engineering Alumni Society. 

The 2015 chemical engineering PSEAS Award winners are:

  • Laurinda Benner, Manager of Administrative Services - Outstanding Staff Award
  • Wayne Curtis, Professor of Chemical Engineering - Lawrence J. Perez Memorial Student Advocate Award
  • Robert Rioux, Friedrich G. Helfferich Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering - Outstanding Research Award
  • Mary Jane Smith, Financial Assistant - Spirit Award
  • Darrell Velegol, Distinguished Professor Chemical Engineering - World-Class Engineering Faculty Award
  • Andrew Zydney, Distinguished Professor Chemical Engineering - Outstanding Teaching Award

Share this story:

facebook linked in twitter email


The Penn State Department of Chemical Engineering, established in 1948, is recognized as one of the largest and most influential chemical engineering departments in the nation.

The department is built upon the fundamentals of academic integrity, innovation in research, and commitment to the advancement of industry.

Department of Chemical Engineering

119 Greenberg Complex

The Pennsylvania State University

University Park, PA 16802-4400

Phone: 814-865-2574